Tags

, , , , , ,

We LOVE Kale at our house.  It seems to be finding it’s way into A LOT of our dishes these days.

Now, I will tell you that I’m not a fan of ANY vegetable steamed, wet or mushy.  Not adjectives that make me hungry or excited to eat veggies.

I prefer to have my vegetables incorporated into whatever dish I am making.  We’re still getting lots of veggie goodness, usually without my niños knowing!

That said, we have been making Kale Pesto quite a bit lately, and it. is. AWESOME.  You can’t tell the difference between it and regular pesto.

Just the way I like it!

Ingredients


1 bunch basil
3 handfuls of baby kale
1 handful of baby spinach (for flavor complexity)
1/2 cup fresh grated Parmesan Reggiano
2 cloves of garlic, minced
1/4 cup olive oil
1/4 cup pine nuts

Directions

Put all ingredients into a food processor……

and process until really smooth.

Spoon it over your favorite pasta, use it in a salad, use it as a pizza sauce, or eat it straight from the food processor….  Enjoy!

Chef’s Note: If using adult kale (and not baby kale), blanch it in boiling water for about 3 seconds first; if using baby kale, no need to do so.

Linking up at these parties!

